My Chiang Mai Apartment: Where I sleep. Outside is where I live.

 

View of my small but comfortable, quiet and beautifully located apartment.

View of my small but comfortable, quiet and beautifully located apartment.

I found a great place, Laana Moon Apartments, just off the Main Street of loi khor. I ended up going its a very simple studio. Fully furnished with a queen bed, dresser, and everything else that I need.

It’s a small place but very comfortable. No street noise, as it’s off a private drive. Yet it’s only a few minutes walk to a Main Street with loads of restaurants, pubs, coffee shops, and massages.

View from the balcony

View from the balcony

The room has plenty of natural light. Multiple windows and a balcony. And I have the corner unit that faces east so I get the wonderful morning sun. It’s wonderful not having to use an alarm clock. Just wake up with the sun…and the occasional rooster crowing.

Laana Moon Apartment_ 2076

There is a ceiling fan that has multiple settings and it makes a gentle buzz that I love but haven’t been using, which is weird for me. And there is also a proper air conditioner that I’ve yet to turn on.

Laana Moon Apartment_ 2080

The bathroom is small but comfortable. With a large mirror, proper toilet and shower with electronic heater for hot showers. It took some getting used to but showering in the same area as everything else in the bathroom isn’t bad now.

I’ve been making my bed every day which keeps the place looking neat and livable but the great thing is that there is a maid that comes and does a full cleaning and towel renewal every Friday. Having someone do a full cleaning is key for a small living space.

Laana Moon Apartment_ 2077

In chiang Mai there are many options available for renting. From multiple bedroom apartments for over $1000 a month to much more simple places that’ll run you around $100 a month. The place I chose was recommended by a local Thai. She said it was a nice place that is quiet. I went and looked and felt very comfortable with it. After leaving a very “luxurious” apartment in Seattle I really wanted to go the opposite direction with my living here. So I chose something small but comfortable. A place to put the few things that I have while I go explore. Outside is where I live. My apartment is where I sleep. And as it’s about $5 a day I have no issues with leaving for a week or two.

From the outside.

From the outside.

There is a pool downstairs, parking for my motorbike, and I’m on the top floor so no noise above me. Just around the corner a Thai lady has a tiny little restaurant and serves up amazing food all day. Everything made to order.

My beast of a bike. 110ccs. Apparently big enough to ride 4 deep!

My beast of a bike. 110ccs. Apparently big enough to ride 4 deep!

The tentative plan before I left Seattle was to go to Chiang Mai and get an apartment for six months or so. Well that’s done and I think it turned out very well.

6 responses to “My Chiang Mai Apartment: Where I sleep. Outside is where I live.

  1. Love the pad. It seems you have quiet a view like Seattle. You are going to be very spoiled. I hope you keep up your cooking skills. Hhehehe when did you buy the motor scooter? Send pics of food and places you go daily. Do you have refrigerator? David says sounds awesome and loads of fun. We love you keep me posted. What’s phone number for texting please. Love you mom

Leave a Reply

